Schizophrenia Community
Are my psychotic nightmares a medication side-effect?
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to schizophrenia and other schizoaffective disorders.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Are my psychotic nightmares a medication side-effect?

This is my first time asking for help online, as I would usually take any concerns straight to my psychiatrist. But I'm a little hesitant to speak to anyone about this face-to-face until I get an opinion anonymously.

I have been diagnosed with a schizoaffective disorder (with Bipolar II as the mood disorder) and have been very compliant with all psychotherapy and medication requirements over the last 10 years.
My medication is still altered quite regularly, but my doctor & psychiatrist have helped me to stop taking anti-psychotics (6 years on them, currently >1 year off) and I've managed quite well without them. I do have occasional psychotic episodes, but the duration and severity has decreased drastically, to a point where I feel I'm able to manage them in everyday life. I have never been a danger to myself or others during episodes, except on one occasion a few years ago when I lost control of a vehicle, and I haven't driven since.
I have also been allowed to stop taking mood stabilizers for the last few months, and have replaced them with Omega-3 fish oil (750mg krill oil / day.)
So the only medication I am currently taking is anti-depressants, which is where my question begins… (Sorry for the lengthy intro!)

I have been taking venlafaxine for over a year and the dosage has steadily been increased, but my psychiatrist recently wanted to try adding an additional anti-depressant instead of increasing the dose further.
For 3 months, I was taking 300mg venlafaxine + 300mg bupropion. This seemed like the perfect combination and I was feeling really positive about the changes I was seeing.