Schizophrenia Community
Talking to self aloud when nobody is there
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to schizophrenia and other schizoaffective disorders.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Talking to self aloud when nobody is there

I am new to this forum.  I stay with a friend once in a while on vacation (maybe 4 times per year). She seems fine during the day. She is very friendly and calm.  She lives alone and  I am a guest at her house.  I notice that her house is very clean but if you look in the drawers, things seem very messy and not organized.  It seems that she keeps all kinds of old stuff and receipts in very messy closets and cabinet drawers.  This is not my major issue for writting.  The reason that I am posting a question is that I hear my friend talking to herself when she thinks that I am sleeping or busy at another part of the house.  For example, I tend to go to bed earlier than she does.  After I go to bed and she thinks that I am sleeping, I hear her in the kitchen talking to herself in a mad voice and telling "someone" who is not there at all to "shut up".  This goes on for about 15 minutes in the middle of the night such as at mid night or 1 AM.  In addition, when she wakes up around 6AM and takes her shower, I hear a talking to herself in the bathroom.  She seems very mad at something or someone and talks to herself telling someone to "shut up....". I am the only other person is her house and I am in another bedroom.  She also assumes that I am sleeping.  Should I be concerned about this behavior? Has anyone seen this type of behavior in the past because I have not seen this in my family or other friends?  What could this be? Could be stress because of my visit? stress about her life? schzophrenia? bipolar?  Am I safe at her home? Should I ask her about these talks? Otherwise she seems a very calm person, clean house except her drawrs and closets.  She also has a good pay