Schizophrenia Community
auditory hallucinations
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to schizophrenia and other schizoaffective disorders.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

auditory hallucinations

Hi I'm a nurse of 16 years.  My 55 year old brother called and told me he is hearing voices brining up the past when he did amphetamines 12 years ago.  He is a non insulin dependent diabetic, has hypertension, alcoholic and also has hypothyroidism.  He went to the doctor and was told everything was ought of wack, however when he got off amphetamines at 43 years old he was hearing voices and was put  on resperidal.  He has not heard any voices since he took resperidal for 2 months 12 years ago.  He recently changed jobs and is working with the people he used to do the drugs with and also has had a major break up with a girlfriend.  He guarantees me he is not doing drugs however he said he is taking multiple vitamins ie.. excessive amount of vitamin c, vitamin d and vitamin e.  I don't know if this has anything to do with it  or not but I had him stop taking all the vitamins and told him to try glycine, Help I don't know what to think or how to help him.  What can I do?  He is reluctant to tell his doctor for fear of his new job finding out.  I don't know what to think but prior to doing the drugs he has never had anyother type of symptoms of schizophrenia.  Could the excessive alcohol be bringing this on or the depression?  I thought schizophrenia didn't happen to people  in their 40's and 50's that it happened in the teens and twenties.  What suggestions can you give me if he refuses to go to a doctor.
Related Discussions
4 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
585414_tn?1288944902