673?1276376493
Social Anxiety User Group
Dealing with authority figures
About This Group:

Feel awkward around people? Avoid the phone or social gatherings? Welcome to the social anxiety group. This is a place for sharing anxiety stories and discussions on how to overcome the problem.

Founded by whitecat78 on June 12, 2010
85 members
Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Dealing with authority figures

Hello,

I am a 41 yr old professional women. All my life I have had trouble dealing with authority figures. The most recent one was where my boss accused myself and a co-worker of making a mistake at work. Did we ,yes, but the boss decided to go over and over it to the point where I started to cry, my throat got too tight to speak and I had to leave the room. NOT one of my better moments. This is also not an isolated moment. Happens every damn time. It is had to be taken seriously or to stand up for yourself when this happens. I've been told anxiety is part of having Fibromyalgia. Knowing this doesn't help me deal with authority figures. I am already on anti-anxiety medication. Clearly it's not working. I still have to finish the conversation with my boss so I'm going to see my doctor tomorrow about some valium to take the edge off so I can have an intellegent conversation with her...hopefully. Wish me luck please.

Thanks for letting me vent.
4 Comments
Blank
1692433_tn?1306490357
Good luck k9helper...when i was a junior at my office a couple of months back..almost every single day i got scolded by my superior due to some careless mistake at work. But i never talk back or defended myself instead i just listen and do whatever she wants me to do.

I guess that's how boss usually works...and i can feel that everyone experience the same thing. So i tried to think that it is not only me who is into this kind of situation and i feel relief a little even though not much.
Blank
1603130_tn?1309915294