Speech & Language Disorders Community
Loss of speech in a 14 month old
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to Speech and Language Disorders. Topics include, but are not limited to: Aphasia, Apraxia, Autism and Communication, Developmental Dyspraxia, Motor Speech Disorder, Orofacial Myofunctional Disorders, Paradoxical Vocal Fold Movement (PVFM), Tongue-Tie (Ankyloglossia), Voice Disorders

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Loss of speech in a 14 month old

Hello, I am new to the MedHelp and didn't realize there was a Speech Forum.  I posted this earlier on the Maternal Forum.  
My daughter at 12 months old said aprox. 10 words clearly.  She used to also mimics our inflection if she did not know the words.  She was an avid talker.  Would often say "this" if she wanted something.  She would hand you a book and say "book book!"  Aprox 2-3 weeks ago she stopped all words.  She is now 14 months old.  She babbles, grunts and screams now.  She won't say "Mama" or her favorite "Duck."  She still says Da and occasionally Dada.  She still makes sounds like "wuuuu" if she sees a dog or "muuu" for cow.  But before she used to say "Dog."  Now if she wants you to read her a book she grunts and points.  Her hearing seems fine as she turns her head if she is called and she understands basic commands.  She has been walking since 11.5 months and signs several words.  She is very happy child but not cuddly at all.  She shows affection by smiles and flirting.  Some thought on the Maternal Forum that she may be stopping language to learn a new skill.  But when she was learning to walk (which is very difficult) she was at the height of her talking.  Is just does not seem normal that she has not acquired any new words and has lost all her old words.  Thanks.
Related Discussions
24 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
169942_tn?1383616900