Thyroid Cancer / Nodules & Hyperthyroidism Expert Forum
Excess Iodine
About This Forum:

Questions in the Thyroid forum are answered by Mark Lupo, MD. Topics covered include Goiter, Graves Disease, Hyperthyroid, Parathyroid/Calcium Problems, Thyroid Cancer, Thyroid Nodules/Cysts, Thyroiditis, Thyroid & Pregnancy, Thyroid Stimulating Hormone (TSH), Thyroid Tests, and Thyroid Surgery.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

Excess Iodine

I had been gargling with Betadine for the last 20 years and finally felt the effects this summer when heart palpitations started !  back then I was bordeline Hyper with a T4 of 21 (22 is the upper limit here ! )  But when I found out the Betadine had high concentrations of Iodine , I stopped taking it , which sent my T4 skyrocketing to 60 ! I had a few occasions of continued arythmias lasting 3-5 hours . I'm on tapazole 45 Mgs in 3 15mg doses !
After 4 weeks at 30 Mg my T4 still didn't go down , which is why I was upped to 45 !

My question is what can I expect as damage to my thyroid or is it possible everything returns to normal ! I stopped the Iodine on August 8 2008 !  They didn't want to do any scan because of the excess Iodine intake .

How long can my thyroid be super charged with Iodine ?

Is there anything food I should stay away from  ?

Any supplements to assist ?    ( however I'm on Coumadin because of the arythmia's )

Thanks

Peter Groves
Related Discussions
97953_tn?1193367871
Not sure about the L-carnitine -- no definite benefit to thyroid.

Iodine overload can cause thyroid dysfunction -- but interestingly, excess iodine is sometimes used to slow the thyroid down -- it's a tricky balance.