Thyroid Cancer / Nodules & Hyperthyroidism Expert Forum
Grave's disease, weight gain, elevated insulin
About This Forum:

Questions in the Thyroid forum are answered by Mark Lupo, MD. Topics covered include Goiter, Graves Disease, Hyperthyroid, Parathyroid/Calcium Problems, Thyroid Cancer, Thyroid Nodules/Cysts, Thyroiditis, Thyroid & Pregnancy, Thyroid Stimulating Hormone (TSH), Thyroid Tests, and Thyroid Surgery.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

Grave's disease, weight gain, elevated insulin

Dr. Lupo,

ChitChatNine suggested that I contact your expert forum.  If you don't know, you might know someone who does.  Either way I thank you for your time and consideration.  My question is a copy of a post I left in the thyroid community.

Does anyone know anything about this?

I am a biologist, not a physician.  But, I am one of the Grave's patients that has periodically experienced weight gain.  Both my primary physician and my endo told me no one knows the cause, it just happens to a few folk.  But, it kept niggling away at me.  I mean all the symptoms and physical problems caused by the disease, and by whichever medication you're taking, AND I GET TO BE FAT ON TOP OF IT ALL?  NOT FAIR.   I thought back to my year of anat and phys, looked in my old textbooks, and the only trigger I could find that tells the body to store carbs as fat was insulin.  So, I had my doctors add a measurement of insulin to my standard blood work.  Turned out that when I was in a phase of Grave's that characterized by fairly excessive and rapid weight gain, my insulin was always elevated.  I am sure that is what caused the excessive fatigue that I also experienced at these times; my body was pulling a lot of my molecular energy out of circulation and socking it away for a rainy day.  My insulin levels are fine at all other times.  I no longer have