Thyroid Disorders Community
Waistline weight gain
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to thyroid issues, goiter, Graves disease, Hashimoto's Thyroiditis, Human Growth Hormone (HGH), hyperthyroid, hypothyroid, metabolism, parathyroid, pituitary gland, thyroiditis, and thyroid Stimulating Hormone (TSH).

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Waistline weight gain

I have a small nodule on my thyroid and, although my blood tests were just inside normal range, my doctor and I have been experimenting with dosages of Synthroid for about 6 months.

After 6 weeks on .05 mg my levels were lower than with no medication (TSH: .46, T4: 10, T3 2.8), so we doubled the dose to .10 mg.  6 weeks later I felt MUCH better, if a little tense - my levels were to TSH: .03, T4: 17 and T3: 4.0.

But we upped the dosage to .112 mg, since I wanted to see how I would feel in the high normal range. I couldn't sleep, so we have now lowered it to .088. AND, I stopped taking 350 mg of calcium citrate in the morning when I learned it could interfere.  

I still feel more vaguely anxious much of the time.

I also take natural hormones for menopause - Triest (.675 twice a day - more used to feel like too much) and natural progesterone.  

I started to gain weight around the middle once we doubled the dosage which I cannot control with diet or exercise.  (I am craving sweets.)

Is this an estrogen issue or a cortisol issue or should does it sound like we should lower the synthroid dosage further?
Related Discussions
2 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
Weight around the middle can be from a lot of health issues, such a stress, cancer, menopause, estrogen or cortisol, etc.,  as well run in our genes.  The best way to eliminate form the list is through the appropriate test.

October is breast cancer awareness
Blank