Thyroid Disorders Community
hyperthyroid eat broccoli everyday
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to thyroid issues, goiter, Graves disease, Hashimoto's Thyroiditis, Human Growth Hormone (HGH), hyperthyroid, hypothyroid, metabolism, parathyroid, pituitary gland, thyroiditis, and thyroid Stimulating Hormone (TSH).

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

hyperthyroid eat broccoli everyday

some website say hyperthyroid patients need eat broccoli and is good, while some said not good  http://www.naturalendocrinesolutions.com/articles/goitrogens-thyroid-inhibiting-foods-you-should-avoid/  

please comment? I'm thinking of eating broccoli everyday to slow down my thyroid producing hormon. I am having mild hyperthyroid.
Blank
Have you seen the articles saying acetyl L carnitine is a great natural way to deal with hyperthyroid?

http://www.lef.org/magazine/mag2007/dec2007_report_thyroid_01.htm

I have no personal experience of this (I'm hypothyroid) but it might be worth asking your doctor about this. It sounds as if it might be better than goitrogenic foods.
7 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
649848_tn?1357751184
Broccoli is a goitrogen.  Goitrogens interfere with the thyroid's ability to use iodine.  They can cause swelling/inflammation of the thyroid.  The goitrogens are actually very good for you, other than their effect on thyroid health.  Cooking them removes the goitrogenic properties, so they have no adverse effects.

Soy is a goitrogenic that I do not recommend eating at all.

I'm not sure that eating broccoli will have that much effect on your hyperthyroidism.  Maybe you'd be better off to get an anti-thyroid medication from your doctor.

Please post your current thyroid levels so members can better assess your situation and possibly make suggestions.  Be sure to include reference ranges, since those vary lab to lab and must come from your own report.
Blank