Travel Medicine / Vaccination / Immunization Expert Forum
malaria
About This Forum:

Questions in the Travel Medicine forum are answered by Dr. Philip D Parks, affiliated with Harvard School of Public Health. Topics covered include disease prevention, finding a doctor abroad, food and water safety, illness and injury abroad, mosquito and tick protection, resources for travelers, traveling with children or pets, traveling with special needs, vaccinations and immunizations.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

malaria

I studied abroad in Ghana for six months in the fall semester. Near the end of my time there I was clinically diagnosed with Malaria (also don't know what type). My symptoms were the usual, feverish, feeling hot--feeling cold, and I took meds that I got at the pharmacy there, but I also had  the least glamorous symptom of painful episodes where my stomach felt like it was going to explode accompanied by the release of bile everytime i went to the bathroom, which the doctor told me was normal. Its several months later and I stupidly havent gone to get a check up yet. I feel pretty healthy and the side-effects passed long ago, while still in ghana. however, every once in a while I get rectal bleeding, which is a little too reminiscent of my bile days. Could i still have a parasite lurking?? Im going to get checked up this week, but school health services isn't the most trustworthy. any idea of what this may mean or what i should expect?
Related Discussions
Dear Liza:

Did you have a blood smear when the diagnosis of malaria was made?