Undiagnosed Symptoms Community
Lung nodules and dirty CPAP
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to undiagnosed symptoms, breathing difficulties, feeling cold, cough, diarrhea, dizziness, fainting, fever, indigestion, itching, nausea, numbness, pain (chronic), paralysis, rash, sweating, swelling, urination problems, and vomiting.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Lung nodules and dirty CPAP

16 months ago, I began a series of CAT scans, all of which revealed multiple lung nodules. Recently, the dry cough has become severe, and I ran a fever, which responded to a Zpak given by my doubtful GP.
I've been using a CPAP since 2000, but have never paid much attention to washing my supplies, nor replacing them in a timely fashion. Nor have I used distilled water in my "heated" humidifier, as that is an added expense. The machines have been replaced a few times though. Now I am wondering if the lung nodules could have been caused by my uncleaned CPAP, which frequently had old and unwashed tubing and masks. Anyone know of an established correlation?  
Also, my brother tells me that the guidelines for replacing masks, tubing, etc. have recently been revised  to shorter periods. Of course insurance companies probably haven't revised anything. Does anyone know anything about that? I can't seem to find info on it.                
Related Discussions
5 Comments
Blank
1340994_tn?1374197577
My friend's company replaces his CPAP supplies whenever he asks.  They give you instructions on how to keep it clean.  Obviously nobody wants to do it, but there are consequences.  Otherwise they would let you do it the easy way.  Now you have unexplained lung nodules, so you will have to get a biopsy to find out what is going on.  Nobody here can help you.  
Blank
It will be worth the trip.   Get your doctor to get you into the IU Medical Center Pulmonary.   They can help you.
Blank