Urologic Cancer Community
prostate cancer
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to urologic cancers including: Bladder Cancer, Kidney Cancer, Colon Cancer, Penis Cancer, Renal Pelvis Cancer, Testicular Cancer, Ureter Cancer.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

prostate cancer

My psa test results are in the range of 3.55 to 3.88 for psa testing which is in the "normal range".  However my free psa is 7-8.
Is this test result for the free psa of concern?
My reading states that the free psa should be in the 20-25 range.
Can anyone give me some clairification?
Thank you,
Jerry
Related Discussions
5 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
I am not a doctor. but can tell you that studies indicate the percentage of free PSA is lower in men with prostate cancer. Doctors will usually suggest a biopsy at 20% or less and a PSA level from 4 to 10. Some PSA is bound to blood proteins and some travels freely; this just tells them how much is traveling freely. Even though your PSA level is under four, it may have risen from 3.0 to 3.55 in a short time. What is your history?

It doesn't mean you have prostate cancer; it just may alert your urologist to do further testing.

Good luck.
Blank
I hope yours is not the case but my PSA was 3.0 and free PSA was 7% and after a biopsy was done  had prostate cancer but at least it did not spread and was contained in the prostate.  I had a robotic prostectomy performed.  It is my understanding that a low free PSA usually denotes cancer but with a low PSA it usually hasnt spread beyond the prostate.
Good luck to you.
Blank
i read about psa and as a rule of thumb, any psa over 4 has a 10% chance of cancer.
as you probably know, it depends if it is localised or advanced.
Blank
i am a 45 yera old with a psa of 6.9 on the first blood test 4 weeks later had psa of 5.9 gowing for biopsy on 2nd feb 2010 trying to get my head around all the information
Blank
1524139_tn?1291374754