Urology Community
How long does it take for kidney stones to pass?
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to urology issues, benign prostate disease, penis curvature, cystisis, pediatric urology, prostate, sexual dysfunction and urological cancers.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

How long does it take for kidney stones to pass?

Hello, i am a 20 year old student and recently found that i have two kidney stones. I believe they have both moved from my kidney to my bladder and was wondering how long it takes to pass them through my urine once they are already in my bladder. These stones are 1mm and 2mm and also i was wondering to what extent the pain is going to be when i pass them?
Related Discussions
49 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
The pain of kidney stones are excruciating for some and others feel nothing, depending on the size of the stone. The pain comes from the stone moving down from the kidney to the bladder via the ureter. Once it is in the bladder, usually you shouldn't experience any pain . Drink lots of water!!! This is the only way to flush them out. You will never know if you have passed it out in your urine unless you strain it. If you suspect they have entered your bladder, you may have unknowingly passed them in your urine already.
Blank
I agree with you except about never knowing if you have passed them, I've had lots of stones, and with larger stones 3-5mm I can feel them pass though every time, I'm male by the way. With 1-2mm I couldn't feel them like you said strain the urine it's the only way of telling that something has passed. There is a condition in which stones can get stuck in the bladder and have a very hard time coming out, a good thing to do is get out of the bed and walk do some activity, gravity does help with the removal process.
Blank
773844_tn?1236919654