Urology Expert Forum
Prostitus
About This Forum:

Questions in the Urology forum are answered by medical professionals at Healthcare Magic. Topics covered include benign prostate disease, penis curvature, cystisis, kidney stones, pediatric urology, prostate, sexual dysfunction, urinary tract infections (UTI), and urological cancers.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

Prostitus

I'm 33 years old and I've been fighting typical prostitus symptoms for 4 months, with the worst being constant burning sensation in the penis, swollen tubes in the testicles and testicle pain.  I've been on medication, levaquin, Doxyciline, and Sulfratrims for that period.  Once the pain clears up, if I lift something it comes back.  I've been checked for hernia's and had a cat scan done and nothing was found.  It's 5AM and the pain is keeping me awake again.  I've been trying to figure out what started all this and I thought of something I neglected to tell my urologist.  About a week or two before this whole thing started I used a hand lotion with Alpha Hydroxy and lipids as a personal lubricant.  I had used hand lotions for this purpose before with no problems, but this time I got a slight burning sensation so I stopped using it.  Is it possible that the chemicals in that lotion stayed in my system and are causing my symptoms?  
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Dear Eugene,
There are four general categories of prostatitis. These are: acute bacterial prostatitis, chronic bacterial prostatitis, non-bacterial prostatitis and prostatodynia. It is often difficult to definitively diagnose the type of disorder a patient may have. The routine for treatment, initially, is to use antibiotics and anti-inflammatory