Urology Community
bladder
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to urology issues, benign prostate disease, penis curvature, cystisis, pediatric urology, prostate, sexual dysfunction and urological cancers.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

bladder

my husband will be having surgery to remove a 26 x 20 cm tumor from his bladder which is strongly suspected to be cancer. In the event his bladder has to be removed I was reading about a procedure called Neobladder. What are your thoughts on this surgery. We live in Orange County California ( between LA & San Diego) and would like any suggestions on hospitals that use very up to the date procedure.  Thank you

This discussion is related to Urostomy ileal conduit.
Related Discussions
2 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
I am not a doctor, but have had bladder tumors removed. In each case, the doctors have had to wait for the pathology report to return before they know how serious it is. I was told any bladder tumor is cancerous; the pathology report tells them the grade and whether it's surface or invasive. In my case, a nasty looking tumor they were worried about turned out to be a low-grade surface one.

I would advise you to wait for the pathology report before thinking of a neobladder. I'm in LA and my urologist is associated with both Cedar's-Sinai and UCLA Medical Center, both outstanding facilities. More important is the experience of your urologist with the procedure. Investigate the doctor's background first.

Stay well.
Blank
963889_tn?1359680934