Weight Loss & Healthy Lifestyle Expert Forum
Why do I sweat so much, and why am I always so hot?
About This Forum:

Questions in the Weight Loss & Healthy Lifestyle forum are being answered by James Beckerman, MD, Cardiologist. This forum is for questions and discussions relating to: cooking tricks, diet books, exercise tips, fad diets, fitness, health and hype, healthy role modeling for children, living a "green" lifestyle, medical treatments for obesity, metabolic syndrome, obesity, restaurants, smoking cessation, supplements, surgical treatments for obesity, trends in dieting, weight-related medical conditions

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

Why do I sweat so much, and why am I always so hot?

I'm a 21 year old student at University. For the last few years I've had a major problem with sweat and heat. I am in good shape, but don't exercise a lot. I don't smoke, but being a student I often drink (not so much during the summer holidays).

My problem started a few years ago in college. It could be the coldest day of the year, but still I would sweat loads under my arms, and get wet patches (Gross I know!) Over the last few years it has just gotten worse and is now not just my armpits that sweat. The problem is mainly from my waist upward. Even on a cold day, a 5 minute walk will have me dripping with sweat. Mainly all over my back, under my arms and my face. I am ALWAYS hot, even when friends are cold. The sweat begins and that makes me more frustrated, which leads to more sweat! I don't sweat much  on my arms, legs or hands. Its just my face, armpits and whole back. my back is the worst place)