Weight Loss Alternatives Community
Zoloft
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to weight loss alternatives, programs, and dietary supplements.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Zoloft

Hello. I have been working to get down to my ideal weight for several months now, and I am doing very well. However, my doctor prescribed me Zoloft today to treat my anxiety, and even though I addressed the issue of weight gain with her and she told me that I would need to watch my carbs and exercise consistently, I am quite worried about gaining back the weight I've lost (almost 20 lbs). Does anyone have any personal stories that can help me with the dilemma of taking or not taking the medication?
Related Discussions
58 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
It all comes down to calories in vs. calories out.  Continue to monitor your food intake as you've been doing and exercise regularly.
Blank
I understand that, but zoloft lowers your metabolism and changes the metabolism of carbohydrates from what I have found in looking it up. I'm just wondering if anybody has been on it, and if so, what happened in the case of weight loss or gain, and what habits changed or stayed the same that may have allowed the medication to cause the effects.
Blank
I was on Zoloft for awhile.  It actually made me lose my appetite, so I ending up losing about 20-25lbs. while on it.  It all depends on your body chemistry and how the drug will react.  There's a few other people i know that lost weight while on the meds.  Good luck.
Blank