Women's Health Community
painful period with large blood clots
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to women's health issues, including bone health, gynecologic cancers, genetic testing, heart disease, infectious diseases, work issues, mammograms, reproductive health, sexuality, domestic abuse and sexual violence.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

painful period with large blood clots

I just started my period this monday and it is actually a week early. It started out really light on the first day but the second day it got really really heavy and very painful. I am having large blood clots and having to change super tampons every 3 to 4 hours. is this normal or should I seek medical attention?
Related Discussions
6 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
I'm not an expert at this stuff but I have had the same kind of periods as you do. The first day is usually really light then the following days it gets really painful to the point where I couldn't get out of bed to go to school. I was having to change my pad/tampons every few hours as well. You don't mention any other symptoms. I would get migraines, diarrhea and pain in the lower back.  I went to the doctor and was tested for an infection and to see if I had an ovarian cyst and everything was fine. It's been a while since I've had a very painful period but I remember the doctor telling me to take some over-the-counter medicine like ibuprofen and it seemed to work fine. I've also used these heat pad things that you put on the inside of your underwear that stays warm for a few hours and that helped too especially if you were at school or work. At home, I would take a heating wrap (the kind you plug in) and lay down with that on the couch and watch a movie. Sometimes eating some chocolate would help too. Just something to take my mind off the pain. Also taking a hot bath helped too. It's probably nothing serious (like mine was) but I would make a doctor a