von Willebrand Disease Community
VMD or other bleeding disorder
About This Community:

WELCOME TO THE COMMUNITY: This Patient-To-Patient Community is for discussions relating to von Willebrand’s Disease (VWD), which is a bleeding disorder. It affects your blood's ability to clot.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

VMD or other bleeding disorder

First of all, forgive me for posting this in the VMD forum, but there doesn't appear to be a forum for other bleeding disorders.

Full discloser: I'm an author, specifically of LGBT romance. I am presently trying to research a book I want to write told from the point of view of a gay man living with a bleeding disorder, most likely not VMD but rather a moderate-to-severe case of hemophilia (I haven't yet determined which type specifically.) Being a romance, of course, specifically this book would be about his meeting a partner and becoming involved.

It is extremely important to me not to treat this subject lightly. I want to deal with it as fairly, accurately, and respectfully as possible. However, I'm having a bit of trouble doing detailed research because almost all information I can find on any form of search involving any variations of the words "hemophilia" and "gay" deals with HIV and the prevention of disease transmission. This is not the information I need.