Aa
A
A
A
Close
ADD / ADHD Community
3.37k Members

Adult diagnosis of ADD/ADHD?

I am 35 yr old mother of 4 & I have always joked about having ADD/ADHD but lately it seems to become so apparent not only to me but where friends & even social aquaintences seem to ask if I have ADD/ADHD.  After talking to some friends with ADD I am convinced that some sort of treatment/medication would greatly help my daily function.  How do I begin to see about this?  What kind of doctor do I see.  Is he going to laugh at me as an adult asking about an illness that seems to be diagnosised in childhood?  I just don't even know where to start.  Do you have a good reccomendation on how to begin, what I'm sure will be somewhat of a process?
7 Responses
312330 tn?1245180352
kristabeth...

My situation is slightly different, but let me explain.  I was diagnosed with ADHD at age 7....off and on meds till I graduated high school (lack of insurance)...although I love school, I struggled immensely in my undergraduate studies.  Just prior to my first year of graduate school, I had to do the required psychological exam (this is required for anyone wishing to become a pastor from my presbytery)....and within that, the psychologist recommended that I look into treatment again.  Of course, being adhd, I didn't follow that advice, with the assumption that I could do it on my own.  It didn't matter how hard or long I studied, I still got C's.  So, at the beginning of this year, I started to look into treatment.  My general practitioner was who I went to see, and he is comfortable treating adult adhd patients.  He and I met....talked about my symptoms, severity, which aspects of life are most affected by them.....and a few questionairre type forms...then we went over that information and decided that it would be a wise decision to start using medications again.  I'm now taking Adderall 20mg three times a day....and doing great with it.  It's very important if/when you do start medication/treatment for