Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Should I make the switch?

I have been using Differin gel and minocycline for 3 months with wonderful results so far and no side effects. My problem is that my insurance does not cover the cost of Differin and it is very expensive ( $200). I let my doctor know and he gave me a prescription for Retin A and said it was the same medication but its cheaper and should be covered by my insurance. I'm scared to switch to something new when i'm getting the results i want with the Differin, especially since he said Retin A is harsher. Is it worth the switch?
4 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
Thank you for all of your suggestions. I think I might shop around a bit for price quotes for the Differin and I did go on the website for the rebate.
Helpful - 0
Another option is to call around for price quotes.  Costco pharmacy offers Differin for $160.  Plus, there is a $25 rebate available at the Differin website.  So this would bring the cost down a bit.  

In addition, Galderma (company that makes Differin) has a patient assistance program that provides free medications to qualifying patients.  Google for more info.  Looks like there's some paperwork to fill out.  
Helpful - 0
Retin-A is available as cream or gel and in many different strengths (0.025%, 0.05%, etc).  Although it is harsher than Differin, starting with a low strength should minimize the harshness.  
Helpful - 0
309783 tn?1271958229
Hi. Differin is considered to be generally better tolerated than Retin-A. If you do switch and find your skin becomes sensitized, rebalance it with gentle cleansing products. Effclar H cleansing foam by La Roche-Posay is specially formulated to care for oily skin made fragile by over-drying skincare.