Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close
3065255 tn?1345762771

How do I get my wife to accept that she is an addict?

I'm still learning how to use this wonderful site.
I am not the addict, my wife is. I've been a perfect enabler until now. I am 30 days clean in the sense of not allowing her to manipulate me anymore.
My wife and I seem like the model lesbian couple to most our friends. I've allowed her to get out of control with her following of this famous singer. She has been draining me financially and emotionally. Now, since I had that "bazinga" moment (eureka!) I am smarter.
I used to get depressed at the way she is destroying her life and dragging me down with her.
I now recognize that she is an addict who has replaced everything, including me, with her "fix." I am getting a life and letting her know that she had lost me.
It is amazing how shame and secrets keep us isolated. I started talking to friends about what I'm going through, explaining that my life isn't as glamorous as it looks. I see a therapist to make myself stronger. I'm learning to be loving while not giving in to her manipulations. I am starting to demand that she pay her way before paying for her fixes. I talk to others, who are married to addicts.
30 days clean for me as an enabler. Unfortunately, my wife will never accept the fact that she is an addict.
4 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
3065255 tn?1345762771
She is worth following, yes, but not worth giving up your life for. Ever since realizing that my wife has replaced everything she cared for with bits and pieces of this singer's performances and life trivia, I can barely stand that music jenre. My wife's obsessive monologues make me--and some friends who dare--lose patience and say, Come on already.
I would get embarrassed and try to change the subject. My wife would become distraught when people changed the subject on her. We lost friends over this. I kept covering up and apologizing for her crazy behavior.