Aa
A
A
A
Close
Addiction: Living with an Addict Community
1.15k Members

Mom of a heroin user

I am new to this. Being a mother of an addict and using a forum/blog for help. In the past 4 years my daughter has gone from a gorgeous, chaste religious hottie, to a heroin smoking, lying addict. Her life and attitude has done a 180. I don't even recognize her anymore. This is consuming my life.
Any help or advice would certainly help me get through another sleepless night.
8 Responses
1530493 tn?1410056636
Hi
I'm glad you found your way here, new is scary, but you just took a big first step reaching out.
I'm debbie and I'm a mom of a going on 4 year recovering iv heroin addict.
first thing I want to tell you. ..is there is hope, a lot of it.
we have mom's here in all stages of addiction with their children,  so your in a good place to find help with any question you have any advice you need or just to get it all out.
it also helps tremendously to learn all you can about addiction through your daughters eyes.  We have a great guide nighthawk she a recovering addict, that will open her heart to you. ..I'm sure she'll be around.
So tell us where things stand with your daughter.
Her age,  rehabs ? Does she live with you...what you've tried.
your no longer alone
Wow. Thank you. I'm sitting here at my cabin with my daughter, who is 26 and been smoking heroin for 3+ years. I'm here trying to detox her. She is adamant about not going to a medical facility. However, she has been high since being here. I thought I checked everything. Obviously not.
She is a completely different person than 5 years ago.
I'm at the point where I want to give up on her. I have no $$ to assist her recovery and she is no longer on our insurance. She can't pay her rent or bills because she can't hold a job. I don't want her at home because I don't want illegal stuff in my home. Plus I have a 3 year old granddaughter I tend.
Sometimes I can't bear the sadness.  Like now. She's turned mean.