Aa
A
A
A
Close
Addiction: Substance Abuse Community
32k Members

Heroin side effects/treatment

My brother has recently admitted to our family that he has been using heroin for over a year...we are devastated and trying to help him.  The only thing he has agreed to do,  is going to a methadone clinic, which I will be taking him to.  We would much rather him detox & rehab, but I know this is something he must want to do,he says he won't go to the hospital, because he doesn't want to suffer, Even though he suffers from his withdrawls now. my question is do you think he will be able to come off heroin with just the use of methadone? also he has complained of blood in his urine, what could that be?, is it from the heroin abuse? how do we get him to agree to a doctor to at least check that for him??
Please help.
16 Responses
I am not a medical professional but as a former heroin addict there are other meds besides methadone for the detox. I came off heroin with little withdrawl in an in patient setting with clonidine. Some think methadone is like switching one dug for another. As for the blood in urine it sounds like his kidneys he really should check it out.
Your questions are well founded here.  I have no experience with methadone clinics, but I think your brother will need a lot more help than methadone has to offer. He's going to have to have a supportive group and a lot of counselling as well.

What is his age? Does he use IV?(syringes)  I've had blood in my urine and it's been due to a severe kidney infection such as nephritis or sepsis. Heroine abuse usually kills our immune systems' defense against all sorts of infections.

I would by all means try to get him into a medically supervised detox facility.  If he is actively using heroine, he may be incapable of making decisions for himself right now and you may have to step in to save him. Really though, it's "his call" if he wants to live.  Best of luck to you all!

J.B.