Aa
A
A
A
Close
Addiction: Substance Abuse Community
32.1k Members

NSAID Overuse

I have been taking 6 Aleves at a time, sometimes 4 to 5 times a day for migrains due to chronic high blood pressure and stress. I used to just take one or 2, but it wasn't helping at all, so gradually I increased the amount I take, until now I take up to 36 to 40 Aleves a day. I've been doing this for about 6 months now. Now I get terrible stomach cramps and I'm constantly going to the bathroom to move my bowels, which are soft. I do check to make sure that there's no blood in them, and so far, so good. Are these severe stomach cramps a sign that I've messed up my stomach lining?
23 Responses
WOW, that is a lot of naproxen sodium  at one time!  It is good bet that your stomach is not very happy with all that.  You may not have done permanent damage but you need to get to your PCD and let him/her know what you have been doing.  There maybe other pain products that are made especially for migranes that might work better, and not hose your stomach!  
511524 tn?1266349934
omg ..thata is absolutely terrible for youre body..you cold seriously die and it would be extremely painful....taking about 1200 mgs of naproxen is safe but a little high and 800 mgs of ibuprofen every 8 hrs is ok..but the amount of NSAIDS you are taking right now is absolutely too higha dn dangerous..do not atkae it liekly it could bea bsolutely life trheatening there is no addiction potential so i would recommend cutting down emmensily like 4 a day at most...you might ahve already messed up youre stomach and liver..i pray you are alright
Thank you so much for your comment. I will try and cut back on the amount of Aleve I take, but in the meantime, I have to find something to take for my migraine headaches. Thank you again.