A
A
A
Close
Addiction: Substance Abuse Community
32.1k Members

New to the club- questions on quitting narcos

Hello all,
I am just beginning my journey to finding myself again. I am on day 5- almost 6, of cold turkey after 11 years of addiction (or "dependance" as I've justified it to myself). Battling cancer for years made it easy to just say **** it, and give in to the relief it brought (both physically and mentally). I am done numbing myself to reality and pain, and just want to feel the entirety of my real emotions and reactions again. I have really been struggling with a few things. Physically: these withdrawal symptoms are no joke. My stomach feels like it is being shredded into a million pieces every second of every day. I can't stop going to the bathroom- and none of this seems to be letting up. How long did you guys have stomach issues for after quitting? Also I am like the anxiety poster child- and am grinding my teeth and clenching my jaw to the point that it physically hurts to smile and talk.. Is this normal? And if so when the hell will it stop?? Mentally- I am finally seeing the bigger picture and approaching this with the clarity that this is the ONLY option. I know that I want to get back to myself and find myself. I have been addicted since I was under 18. All I've known my entire adult life is this. I want to find out who I am without drugs. The thing I am struggling with mentally is my unsupportive spouse. He had a free constant drug dealer (although I wasn't quite aware of that) under his roof for 10 years and is not happy about the gravy train coming to a halt. He is trying to convince me I don't need to quit, leaving pills in front of me, telling me how much I just "need to take a couple and I'll be fine again and realize I'm good", and trying to convince me that if I am going to quit I need to keep it around me and keep filling scripts because it's " the only way to test myself" (and coincidentally keep him stocked, imagine that!) have any o