Aa
A
A
A
Close
Addiction: Substance Abuse Community
32.1k Members

Oxy withdrawal question..

I would like to start by saying I was never a heavy opiate user, or even used long enough to believe I was addicted. I had been taking 10-20mg a day for maybe three weeks. Monday night I took four 5mg pills in an eight hour period and smoked weed as well. I began to feel nauseas and threw up, then went to bed. I woke up Tuesday morning with a migraine and violently threw up multiple times. I said to myself that day that I wouldn't do oxy anymore. I took my last 5mg pill Tuesday night to deal with the onsetting depression and try and sleep. I am just wondering if the stomach pains and high blood pressure are normal? Most of the stories I have read come from much heavier users than myself so I'm not sure what to think. Also I have been smoking weed for 5 years and since quiting oxy haven't been smoking as much, so I'm wondering if I could be experiencing  withdrawal from that as well? The high blood pressure scares me and would just like some insight from someone who was gone through this.
4 Responses
3197167 tn?1348968606
Even if you haven't been taking them very long and don't think you are addicted....your body will go thru at least "some" changes when it doesn't get the daily dose it was used to after feeding it an opiate.

Stomach issues and high blood pressure are common....why don't you get your dr involved......he/she can give you meds to help, one being clonidine which is a b/p med but used a lot with opiate w/drawals.

It sounds like opiate withdrawal symptoms setting in. I doubt the discomfort will last very long from the amount of time you were using Oxy. I don't think weed is causing the nausea. With the Oxy, were you recovering from pain and it's now under control?