A
A
A
Close
Addiction: Substance Abuse Community
32k Members
441382 tn?1452814169

Question about oxycodone vs. hydrocodone

Hi everyone.  I am a newbie to this community.  I joined for the Pain Management section, but I have some questions that I know some of you here will be able to help me with.  I have been browsing through the threads and I am totally impressed with the compassion and knowledge that everyone here has for others in pain.  This community was a very lucky find for me.  :)

I have adhesive arachnoiditis.  In short, it's basically iatrogenic (doctor-created) spinal meningitis.  It is incurable, and, unfortunately, it is not terminal.  However long I live, so will it.  A doctor who has been diagnosed with this has written a book, and in the book he describes it as "living with the pain of cancer without the release of death".  There will never be a time in my life that I will not need pain meds, however I do have some questions that this forum will be able to help me with.

Right now I am taking 15mg Roxicodone, 2 tablets every 4 hours, with 20mg/ml Eth-Oxydose (liquid oxycodone) for breakthrough pain.  Due to stupidity on my part (I didn't make my next appointment while I was at the doctor's office last time, I waited and called a couple of weeks later) I couldn't get an appointment for my prescription renewal (I have to physically see him every two months, on the off-months he overnights my scrips to me) untill two days past my run-out date.  So there I was, 48 hours to go until my appointment and no meds.  Withdrawals began.