A
A
A
Close
Addiction: Substance Abuse Community
32k Members
2122443 tn?1335785718

Tramdol withdrawl...I feel very ill

I was placed on Tramadol for pain management 5 years ago. I did not abuse my prescription, in fact took less. Now as my health has improved i decided I no longer needed it. I never felt i was addicted, was i blind! I have weaned down and today is my fist day with that drug. What more do I need to expect will happen coming off this medication. I have never been involved with drugs or drinking so this is hard. I know no who has gone through withdrawals. I cannot sleep and haves huge waves of feeling like bugs are running on all my nerves. I sit in the shower   as long as the water keeps warm and make many trips to the restroom. How long will this last?
55 Responses
1801781 tn?1461633069
More than likely your became dependent on it.  your body got used to it and is now trying to reset itself now that you are not taking it.  I have no experience with it, but many have said that it is hard to stop.  I am sure others with experience will come by to help.  Have you talked to your doctor about your symptoms.  Many doctors believe the sales reps when they say it is not addictive.  
2119804 tn?1334864646
I've sent you a message. At the low does you are taking you should just tell yourself you have an illness, like the flu, and that it will go away. You will spend 2-3 days in the restroom a lot, and things start getting better after about 4-5 days. You will have insomnia. Instead of fighting it, watch funny or feel-good movies. Warm baths/showers help. Immodium and Gatorade. It will get better. I promise. The tricky thing about Tramadol is that there is a built-in anti-depressant. If you have long term problems you might talk with your MD about that. Good Luck! It isn't fun but you can get your life back! A week or a month isn't so long in the grand scheme of things!
2122443 tn?1335785718