Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

how to stop

I have been taking Xanax for a year now. 1mg daily. Also Paxil 20mg.But I have cut the Paxil down to every other day for about 2 months now because I simply could not afford it every month. What could I switch to taper off the Xanax that would be easier than the Xanax itself? I get withdrawels even at the low dose. Also is there anything that I could take that is cheaper than the Paxil? Thankyou Danielle
56 Responses
I have a question about stopping ultram. I am actually taking the generic (tramadol). I have been using it for 2 years and have tapered down to one dose every morning. I take 2 1/2 pills amounting to 125mil. I have vicodin or valium, zanax and even phenobarbitol available to use for a detox. The thing is I need to be able to function in about 5 days and from what I hear, it takes 2 weeks to feel decent. I'm afraid to even start this unless I can succeed. Can I just change to vicodin and not feel any reaction? I am not afraid of withdrawal from vicodin ... but tramadol is new territory. I am not a youngster, so I don't want to go into shock ... I appreciate any and all advice. Thanks, Goldie
Dear Golden1:

It would be very unwise to begin any detoxification until after the important meeting because responses vary with each individual. I have not had extensive personal experience with Tramadol but it does not take a genius to recognize that it is the equivalent of an opiate agonist with variations because of the scores of variants of the opiate receptors. It is hitting the same complex with variations and it is unpredictable how you woukld react. I would not substitute another opiate but rather to unload over a significant period of time- weeks- and allow the body to adjust.N OXXaionL SOAW OD  reN
DEAR GOLDIE1: