Aa
A
A
A
Close
Addiction: Substance Abuse Community
32.1k Members

is this a relapse?

Okay so I had to sign up for this site to ask this. Its really messing with me.. I have 4 months clean yesterday. I'm prescribed gabapentin for breathing problems for anxiety. Yesterday like an idiot I took more than I'm supposed to out of boredom thinking I'll get a little high. I didn't get high but just felt a little weird and slept well. Now today its really messing with me. I feel like such an idiot wishing I didn't do it. I'm so proud of my days and don't want to give it up. This is my first time getting clean and I was doing so well.... I also live at a sober living and if I tell anyone what I did I'm worried I will get kicked out.. Is this a relapse?
5 Responses
1445648 tn?1470319663
don't be so hard on yourself that was just a small bump as addicts we are not perfect just think next time and make better choices .. best wishes
1 Comments
So would you consider that small bump a relapse? Do I need to start over my clean date?
I do consider that a relapse. You did it to get high. It happens because our brains just scream sometimes!  I don't think you want to do that again, right?
What's different, though, is that gabapentin is not an opiate. That's good. What were you addicted to?
It takes work to prevent a relapse. Are you involved in a group there where you all talk and share feelings and ideas? Do you attend AA?
Keep posting and congrats on your clean time!
2 Comments