Aa
A
A
A
Close
Addiction: Substance Abuse Community
32.1k Members

symptoms of withdrawal

My husband started taking vicodin for chronic back pain and used them correctly every 4hrs for approx. 3 weeks then switched to darvocet for another six weeks.  He had become severely distended in his abdomen and had constipation so he stopped taking all pain meds.  Since he stopped he has had a severe headache and nausea which has lasted a week straight so far.  My question is can this be withdrawal symptoms from stopping the pain med?
38 Responses
Cindy - welcome.  Yes it sounds like withdrawals could be the what he is going thru.  With the dose he was on and taken correctly he should be about over the bad part. I'm not a doctor but unless he starts feeling better very soon, go talk to your doctor.  I think back when I was in those shoes years ago, when I felt bad I took more, and more, and more... make sure thats not his answer.

SCHLUB - how you doing my friend?  Still on the tapper from burp? Let me know how your doing.  My tapper hit a slight bump in the road but I'm getting back on track.  The depression made me slip but now I'm more depressed.  One of these days I'm gonna learn and have the strength.  I'm giving it my all.  Please let me know how you are.  Just concerned about you and what happened last time you stopped the burp.

Nod
thank you nod for responding so quickly.  Earlier today when I wrote this he was laying on the couch, since then this afternoon he has already said he wanted to take another darovet to stop his headache and i told him not to.  I sure hope he listens to me and to your opinion.  Thanks again for your response.
Best to let him make his own decisions about what to take and when. Depression, if he's got it, can only be withstood for limited periods. No one should have to experience depression, especially if there's a way out.

Frank