Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Seperated from husband

Hi everyone, I am new to this. I have been with my husband for 8 years now, married only for 31/2. I knew from the beginning that he always drank a lot, but thought that everybody in university drinks a lot. After we got married we moved  to another country to be close to his mother, we actually lived with her. A month or two later he started drinking a lot, and having problems with depression. We tried to get help there. He was very suicidal and taking a lot of different medications along with drink almost 1/2 bottle of hard liquor. A lot of the problems were surrounding his mother, we came back to canada and thought it would be better here. He hid it from me but still kept on drinking with his meds. We were living with my parents at the time so he was in a very controlled enviornment. he got a little better and after a year or so we got into a business together. We moved out to our own place and everything was fine for the first few months, although he and I were drinking almost every night a glass or 2 of wine for me and beer for him. He started not coming to work because he wasn't feeling well. Every day that he would be off he would drink all day and hide the bottle or throw it out before I came home.  He started doing this more often and getting more and more depressed. Then started all the verbal abuse and then one day he struck me and then kicked me out of the house. I went to my parents shocked. We were still working together, he didn't come for a few days and then when he did, apologised and cried and said that he couldn't believe that he did that. After a week I moved back, but the problems did not dissappear. Every week would start a new drama. More abuse from his side, i was scared to say anthing to him incase he hit me again. This has been going on for two years now. He has tried to commit suicide has been hospitalized many times. I have tried to help him for years taking him to Addiction centers, getting ment