Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Androstenedione

My baby has Atypical Cushing's and is being treated with melatonin and lignans; she has been on this treatment protocol for 2 yrs. with consistent improvement until this last test in 10/10.  Her Androstenedione is really elevated bringing the progesterones up with it (and probably testosterone as well tho it wasn't included in the assay).  Her cortisol is within normal range, tho it is creeping up; estradiol and aldosterone are normal.  I realize Lysodren is probably in her future but her vet nor I feel it is necessary now as she is clinically fine - no signs.  Her vet is new to Cushing's, by the way, but I have been learning about it for 2+ years (since her diagnosis in 3/08).

My questions are 1) what could cause the Androstenedione to rise (in addition to the Cushing's)? and 2) are there any holistic (non-pharmaceutical) things we can try that might lower these hormones?

Thanks!
S&T's Mom
4 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL
About 5% of dogs with Cushing’s  Disease have atypical Cushing’s Disease which as with typical Cushing’s disease may be pituitary or adrenal-dependent.

Some dogs with atypical Cushing’s, like your dog have problems in the adrenal steroid production pathway. This is because of certain enzyme deficiencies.

The lack of enzymes can result in the accumulation of cortisol precursors that end up being sent or shunted into other metabolic pathways.

With atypical Cushing’s, they are sent to stimulate production of sex hormones referred to as androgen biosynthesis. This is why your dog’s androstenedione is elevated.

Lysodren is the preferred treatment for atypical HAC as it effectively lowers cortisol, androstenedione, progesterone, and 17 OH progesterone hormone levels.

Lysodren is referred to as an adrenocorticolytic agent.