A
A
A
Close
Anxiety Community
23k Members
358304 tn?1409713092

GAD (General Anxiety Disorder)

Hi my name is Chris. 24 Male. I've had the perfect life. Nothing too extreme or devastating has happened to me. Never drank, did drugs nothing.

I have had a lot go on in the past 7 months.
My grandmother died from cancer... and my wife and I had a baby.

Even after my grandmother died, and having a new baby... I was okay.
I coped with it fine.

I work in the tourism industry.. working with tourists.. my job can be kinda stressful sometimes, but overall its pretty great! The money is awesome etc.! On the side I make short films.. and recently have had lots of success with my videos.. 3 of them were on the front page of myspace.com.

Just about 2 months ago.. I came home from work.. and felt sick. Like I had the flu. Nothing sounded good. I went to bed... couldnt really sleep. Felt panicky. The next couple of days I started getting up REALLY early and felt the need to pace around! I couldnt just sit still and relax. I knew it wasnt the flu.

After about a week of not getting any sleep and being so pacy, it was like i was on meth! (not that ive ever done that) I finally went to the Dr.

He said my heart was racing... and my blood pressure was a tad high.
He told me it was anxiety.
I explained everything and how I felt.
I told him about the night sweats, the bad butterflies in my stomach.

My wife was confused... she told the dr. "we all have anxiety.. why is chris like this?" The dr. told her that when a wolf is about to attack you, your body goes into panic mode... with me, theres no wolf. That was the best explanation I could ever hear.

Well he gave me lexapro.. and some larazopam to help.
I took 10mg the 1st night.. and I though it was making me gag.