Aa
A
A
A
Close
Anxiety Community
23k Members

I think I have severe anxiety? Help?

I'm 18 later this year and since I was done with my school exams, I've been worrying about the most irrational things. I've been staying at home for the past 2 months without anything to do and my dad says that's the reason why I'm worrying all the time (coz i have nothing to think about). I'm going to college later this year. I try to occupy myself by reading books and blogging and etc.. but the anxiety ALWAYS returns, especially at night and i always wake up in the middle of the night. I have to scroll through my phone until i fall asleep again. It's such an uncomfortable feeling because i know these irrational fears are keeping me from enjoying life but i can't get rid of them. I'm afraid my anxiety might snowball into depression. I used to cry all the time for no reason but i don't anymore, so i think that's an improvement. I also lost A LOT of weight and now i've got twigs for limbs. My fears are...
growing old and becoming useless,
the fact that there will be people younger than me when i'm old and useless,
losing my parents (i don't think i can survive on my own),
becoming a working adult (i can't see myself as one),
getting out of my comfort zone and facing people.
and no, i'm not afraid of death anymore. in fact sometimes i want it to come soon so i don't have to die old. i kind of feel that life is pointless and i don't have the motivation to work hard anymore because we're all going to die anyway. the thought keeps me from doing productive things and at the end of the day i feel so guilty for not doing anything productive. How do i get rid of these recurring thoughts?
I was scouted by a modelling agency just a few weeks ago and initially i was excited and happy to be doing something new but then i thought of all the things that could go wrong and now i'm not so excited about it anymore. i feel like i'm not confident enough for the job.