A
A
A
Close
Anxiety Community
23k Members
539024 tn?1270582597

Summer anxiety?

Hi all, I'm new to this forum, but reading your posts you seem like such a warm supportive group.  I'm so glad to have found you!  I just wondered if anyone else has worsening of their symptoms during the summer or other unstructured times such as vacations.  I'm a teacher and during the school year, I function very well, but come summer (which is also when I had my first major "diagnosed" breakdown -- I know I've had anxiety all my life) it gets so much worse.  So the summer is a trigger in more ways than one.

I would like to be like the rest of the world and be able to enjoy times of beautiful weather and relaxation.  It is so frustrating and really upsets me.  I am on edge all the time.  When I'm busy I'm ok, but the minute I stop those feelings of anxiety and panic rush back in.  Someone else mentioned that they have the feelings of anxiety without the thoughts and that's exactly what happens to me!  I cannot put my finger on exactly why I feel this way, I just do.  I hate it.  In addition, my son just graduated from high school (single mom, although his dad is here in town and we are both very involved) and I'm facing a bunch of life changes in that arena.  I am so excited for my son to go out and get started at college and the world, but I'm doing the mournful empty-nest thing too.

Just writing this makes me teary, sad, frustrated and anxious.  I would give anything not to be this way...thanks for listening.  I hope someone will have some helpful words for me.  Oh, my specific phobia is flying and I'm flying to Toronto (I should be over the moon about this trip) in July and am just dreading it... I'm also getting more anxious driving lately.   I HATE THIS! (Sorry about the caps, but that's how I feel...)

Marsha
21 Responses
535294 tn?1219933712