A
A
A
Close
Anxiety Community
23k Members
1691275 tn?1322331107

Xanax, Zoloft, and Macrolides...?

For the past three months I've had a constant feeling of dizziness, dissociation, pressure in my head, and pretty severe fatigue and depression. Last year I graduated with a BS in laboratory biology with a 4.0 and I was running or hiking about 30 miles a week; a few weeks ago I couldn't understand how to play a simple card game and most days I can't get out of bed.

I've been taking Xanax for insomnia for about three years, now, anywhere from zero to 1mg a night (usually .5) and have never had to increase my dosage, but I've been reading so many things about long-term use of benzos and their effects on brain chemistry that now I'm paranoid to take it.

And a psychiatrist said that while my main symptoms point toward something viral I am definitely experiencing anxiety and depression as well, and put me on Zoloft (50mg/day for a little over a week now).

And, lastly, an ENT thinks all of this is derived from a sinus infection with atypical symptoms and prescribed me Biaxin, a *really* potent macrolide, for about four weeks now.

The symptoms that initially drove me to seek treatment haven't gone away - if it really is all based on a sinus infection it looks like I'll need surgery - but now I've also got fatigue, jitters, even worse depression, and a very upset stomach. Should I stop any of those medications? And has anyone else heard of symptoms like these stemming from a sinus infection?
1 Responses