Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close
465094 tn?1206838066

Technological tools that have worked for AS students

I am current graduate student working on a project re: Aspergers Syndrome. I have a nephew with AS and 3 nephews in the saem family with different levels of ASD. So Autism is very near to my heart. My current project is researching technology and the AS student. Id be interested in hearing from  parents first hand experiences as well as any of the Dr's on staff. As a future Austim teacher, I am wanting to learn about real life experiences, and not just textbook teachings.
This is the information I am interested in learning about what has worked, and hasnt worked for you:

a.     What technological solutions have been successful in helping the AS student overcome/adapt to his/her disability in a learning environment?
b.    What solutions failed? why?
c.     Any other suggestions in relation to use of technology?

I am learning so much here from the Dr's and parents. What an AWESOMe forum...thank you in advance for any sharing of experiences / information that fellow teachers, parents can share for what has worked or hasnt worked for their child / student.

Sincerely,
Catherine
5 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
365714 tn?1292199108
Don't be surpised if your post goes *poof* later by the mods, because there is a blanket policy against posting for book research, etc..

As far as technology goes, that could mean anything. Could you be more specific?

For me I find the computer and internet a helpful way of communication.  I can say a lot more in print than verbally. (even though I supposidly speak well).

You can google up Amanda Baggs if you are curious to know about non-verbal autism and technology.  She may not be verbal, but she can type and communicate her thoughts that way.
Helpful - 0
465094 tn?1206838066