Aa
A
A
A
Close
Bipolar Disorder Community
4.99k Members

Bipolar and Bulimia

Hi- I was diagnosed with bipolar 1 disorder 5 years ago.  My manic episodes (which usually display as rage/ irritability/ delusions) are precipitated by the use of anti-depressants.  I also have struggled on and off with bulimia since the age of 16.  I know that I need to be off of anti-depressants.  They make me angry and irritable.  However, when I stop taking anti-depressants, within a month I am struggling with depression and bulimia (which is under control with Wellbutrin). My doctor recommended increasing the Seroquel while I continue on the Wellbutrin.  I did and I could not think clearly. I couldn't remember anything. I am a Systems Analyst and I need to be able to concentrate. Maybe I am asking for too much- but do you know of any medication/ combination that may be helpful for bipolars with bulimia? We have tried removing the anti-depressants and increasing the Provigil or Lamictal. It still resulted in depression/ bouts of bulimia. I am currently taking 100-200 mg Provigil, 300 mg Wellbutrin, 150 mg Seroquel and 150 mg Lamictal.  Although the bulimia is under control- I am angry and moody.  This is harming my relationship with my husband and family.
4 Responses
Not sure if it can be mixed with your current "cocktail" but Risperdal helped me.  google it or talk to your Doc about it.  Don't get scared off cause it says it treats schizo because most of bipolar meds treat other problems.  Only reason my Doc. changed me is the cost because I have no insurance.
1924205 tn?1322805860