A
A
A
Close
Bipolar Disorder Community
4.99k Members
731160 tn?1297275908

Sleeplessness

Hi, this is my first time on Medhelp.  I have struggled with Manic Depression for 7+ years now, doing OK but you know our ups and downs.  What do you think is the best thing for insomnia?  I have switch to Lithium a month ago (from Valproic Acid) and still am cycling but not as bad.

Look forward to discussion within this group.

T
25 Responses
Hi, Welcome to the site!

Have you mentioned trouble sleeping with your p.doc or GP (regular doc)?

I struggled with insomnia for years and tried various things; lavender baths, milky drinks, cutting all lights (even the alarm clock) and making sure there were no electrical appliances in the bedroom.  I also tried relaxation techniques.  My problem was more waking throughout the night, I never had any trouble falling asleep, I just couldn't stay asleep.

I now take Zopiclone (probably called something different if you are not from the UK) this is a non addictive sleeping tablet.  I've also been told that an antihistamine can help with sleep.

I am attending a sleep health clinic on Weds so I shall share any nuggets of wisdom I may pick up there.  The guy running it reckons he can get me off the zopiclone and sleeping naturally in a 2 hour session - we shall see :-)

I'm also on lithium - same length of time as you and I've found my sleep more disturbed than it was before despite the fact that insomnia is not a side effect listed - yet drowsiness is ??

I am like bulldozer - I can go to sleep fine - it's the waking up during the nights.  I haven't slept more than 2-3 hours at a time in YEARS.  It's exhausting.  

Luckily, with my stabilization of the Lamictal, I am actually able to sleep more than I used to  - thank goodness.

Bulldozer - let us know how the sleep health clinic goes- I am curious.  I have thought about doing the sleep apnea thing - since I can't sleep anyway!  Will you start a new topic so we can find it when you finish?