Breast Cancer: Stage 3 & 4 Community
525 Members

how to avoid breast cancer

hi i like to know how to avoid breast cancer

can someone please tell me how?

Thanks
6 Responses
364228 tn?1214576973
I am no expert, but I think I know enough to say that there is no way to avoid this terrible disease. You just need to make sure you take care of yourself and go for annual mammograms. Especially if it runs in your family. Don't wait too long and don't put these tests off. That's what happened to my mother and by the time she was diagnosed her cancer had already spread and she was only 50 at the time of diagnosis.
Hope this helps.
Hi,

The risk factors for breast cancer include obesity, OCP use and HRT use, alcohol - so these should be avoided.

It is seen that women who have no children, or have children at greater than 30 years of age are at a greater risk of breast cancer.

Physical activity is known to decrease breast cancer risk.

Apart from this, regular breast self exams and periodic follow up examinations with complete clinical evaluations by a physician and annual follow up mammograms and or USG after the age of 40 years are recommended.

Regards
I had a Mammogram Jan.2008 just for check up. Result: Normal.
Three months later, I have changes on my breast appearance. My family physician prescribed me an antibiotic for 4 weeks. It did not help and I developed Yeast Infection. I asked y family physician  for Urine test or MRI to rule out breast carcinoma.  He refused.

After two  months, my breast was aching and I had a lump under my armpit.  I went to Emergency.  The surgeion ordered an MRI.  The result:  Stage III breast Carcinoma.  I was extremey shocked.  I went for  chemotherapy ASAP.  The chemotherapy is worst than the cancer. Chemotherapy shut down my Immune System and I was susceptible to viruses and bacteria.