A
A
A
Close
Breast Cancer Community
9.41k Members
394017 tn?1255018132

Pain right after surgery

I had my lumpectomy and sentinel node biopsy on Sept. 17th.  I am going to address some of the questions that I had asked in my earlier postings.  
In preparation for the sentinel node procedure, I had the radioactive tracer injected in 4 shots around my nipple, while in nuclear medicine.  The radiologist said that he would be drawing up lidocaine with each injection but there might be a slight feeling of pain.  It was painless and all I felt was a little pressure.  I am a scientist and I guess I mentally put on that hat while they were taking the pictures to see if the tracer had found my sentinel node.  If it wasn't that I was there for cancer surgery, it was fascinating to see this technology!  They had pictures of the nodes in 20 minutes.

Then I was just back in my room for a few minutes to talk to the anestheseologist, who said that it would be general not just IV sedation as I had hoped.  The technician from the ultrasound department came to take me to get the wire placed.  It was the same radiologist.  He said that he would again be injecting me with lidocaine and the pain should be minimal.  One of the ultrasound techs came to hold me hand while he put in the wire.  I'm not sure if they thought I was going to cry or have pain but everyone was very comforting.  Again, all I felt was some pressure.  I said something about that not being bad at all.  The radiologist said that I had the highest pain tolerance of any patient he had.  That gave me a positive outlook going into surgery, that I would not have much pain after the lumpectomy.