A
A
A
Close
Caregivers Community
222 Members
549511 tn?1271775930

Im new at being a carer

I am now taking care of my mother who is at stage 4 colorectal cancer,and has started chemotherapy last week.We only found out 10 weeks ago and she had surgery 3 days after we saw the surgeon and he told us the news.Somedays i look at her and i cant believe that she isnt going to be around for long,as she is very upbeat and happy.I dont know if this is for my benefit,but she tells everyone except me that she worries about how im am going to cope with it all.She also worries as i have my own health issues and that having her here with me is too much for me.for the past 2 years she has been housebound due to a car accident,and in and out of hospital and many operations. I bought her home last week to live with me,and she is enjoying all the activity and noise around here. I am the only one she has to depend on,as i dont have any brothers and sisters to help me.I dont even know why i wrote all this anyway thats my story.........................

7 Responses
144586 tn?1284666164
It sounds like you are doing a good job and should be proud of yourself. Try to make every day for her the very best one of her life. And if you can't because of financial or personal burdens, don't feel guilty. You can only do so much. It's a nice spring and try to get her out, if you can. Hold her tightly and pray.

The best of luck and my heartmost sympathies.
549511 tn?1271775930
Thanks  for that,its autumn here,and we are still having nice days,we have hired a wheelchair rro take her for walks,unfortunately i am not strong enough to push it,so when someone who can do it i will be asking !!
547368 tn?1440541785
Welcome to the Caregivers Forum. We are glad that you have joined us.

Bless you for under taking this difficult challenge. In my opinion it will be the hardest thing you have ever done...but the most rewarding thing you have ever done also.