Aa
A
A
A
Close
Dental Health Community
7.43k Members

Am I being properly treated for an abscess? I'm scared that it might be serious

It all started on Monday when I started getting headaches and feeling dizzy. At the same time, I noticed the gum around my top left wisdom tooth started to swell. It hurt a bit, but not much. It kept swelling and I felt a bad taste coming from there, so on Wednesday I go see a dentist.

I arrive at the office, get an x-ray, dentist looks at my tooth and says I have an abscess and it seemed to have been there for quite some time already. She proceeds do drain it, sends me home on antibiotics and ibuprofen, and tells me to come back on Friday to extract the tooth. My headache only got worse, and I felt pain from behind my nose and eye all the way back to the neck, all on the left side. It "stings" when I inhale deeply, so I imagined it's the sinus cavities. Neither the gum nor the tooth themselves hurt.

Friday I tell my dentist about my symptoms and she says it's normal. She proceeds to extract my tooth and seems to be having a hard time. I also spent nearly 10 minutes getting stitched afterwards (I never extracted a tooth before so I'm not sure if this is normal).

After the extraction, dentist says it was quite worse than she expected: the bone surrounding the wisdom tooth was fractured and it was the cause of the abscess. She even asked me if I got punched there (no). Dentist said she usually takes around 3 minutes to get that tooth out and for me it took nearly 15 minutes. She then said the infection was starting to spread to my ear and other parts of the head, and that's why I felt these headaches, and that with the tooth out I should see some relief.