Aa
A
A
A
Close
Depression/Mental Health Forum
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.

ADD meds and treatment advice

I'm a 44 year old male and currently a nursing student. I have been taking Zoloft 100mg and imipramine 50mg for about 9 years for depression. Ever since I was young, I knew I had some sort of a learning disability, but such things were largely undiagnosed in public schools in the 60's and 70's. I also had struggled with depression from that time. I only agreed to medication after exhausting other attempts at treatment such as counseling and psychotherapy. The dosages I'm now on do very well for me with virtually no side effects.
I have been attending a local community college for several years part time and am employed in health and human services. I decided from the company I often kept that I wanted to become a nurse. I finished the prerequisites with a very good GPA and was accepted into my school's RN program. When classes started last fall, I was immediately overwhelmed. There seemed to be so many assignments, projects and research to plan and complete that I could hardly open a book. The effort to focus went from  mildly difficult to almost impossible. I did some research both online and from texts, including taking the WHO adult self-report scale for attention deficit disorder. I told my psychiatrist my situation and asked to be put on Strattera. It has had a marginal effect overall; we've slowly moved up the doses to the current 80mg. I understand that this is still only a moderate dose for this medication, but my hope for it having any lasting effect has faded. I barely passed through my first semester and immediately see trouble coming in this one. I've begun trying supplements such as piracetam, choline citrate, and omega 3 (fish oil), and while I've begun experiencing good effects, its too early to tell. I still have most of the classic symptoms, including diso