Aa
A
A
A
Close
Depression/Mental Health Forum
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.

Essential tremor: Inderal vs. Topral XL

I suffered a "nervous breakdown" in 1975.  I experienced a high state of anxiety, agoraphobia, depression, panic attacks, and tremor in my dominant hand/wrist.  Due to the tremor, I was unable to write or eat in social situations.  Being a part-time musician, my first acute panic attack was experienced at the beginning of a performance and was accompanied by (or triggered by?) the tremor.  I was teaching, selling insurance, going to graduate school, starting a family - under much stress.  I had to quit my job, but was never hospitalized, and eventually went back to teaching and music, although very difficult most of the time.  My only medication, prescribed by my GP, was Valium, and I have taken 2.5 to 20 mg/day ever since - usually about 5 mg/day now since retired.  In 1987, my depression became severe -no sleep, suicidal thoughts, etc. and I consulted a psychiatrist and have been under his care ever since.  I underwent individual psychotherapy, goup therapy, and prescribed 225 mg of Tofranil at night, 120 mg of Inderal in the morning, and Valium "as needed".  I was able to function well at work, moving into administrative positions and able to perform comfortably enough to enjoy playing music more.  Since retiring, I have been interested in possible alternatives to the Inderal because of side effects - becoming totally exhausted at times (several times a month), sexual side effects, etc.  Although I discussed trying 50 mg of Topral XL with my Psychiatrist and cardiologist (no major heart problem, but I do take 5 mg of Norvasc and 10 mg of Lipitor at night) and they both suggested giving it a try since "any beta blocker should work with the tremor".  I am concerned that, after taking the Topral XL for 4 or 5 days that I am experienced more exagerrated tremors (a