Aa
A
A
A
Close
Depression/Mental Health Forum
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.

Manic depressive

Hello this is my first time posting here. I am 15 and I was wondering how I could tell if i was manic depressive.Could someone email me at ***@**** please.
2 Responses
242532 tn?1269550379
MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL
Rainz, you are probably too young to be manic depressive. I wouldn't worry about the diagnosis, but if you want to describe your symptoms and problems and why you are depressed, we may be able to she some light on that.
It's often difficult for a teenager to be diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder (older term is "manic depression") but not impossible. I'm Bipolar, my husband is Bipolar and my 15 year old son (in a few more weeks he'll be 16) from a previous marriage is Bipolar, too.

Teens are generally moody because they their hormones are changing rapidly as their bodies are being prepared for adulthood. If a teen is experiencing wild mood swings...euphoria, deep depression, grandoise thinking, extreme risk taking, uncontrollable non-stop talking, delusional thoughts, an extremely irritable mood, little or no sleep....etc. and drug or alcohol abuse isn't a possibility, then it's time to talk to a psychiatrist so he/she can investigate the possibility of Bipolar Disorder.