Aa
A
A
A
Close
Depression/Mental Health Forum
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.

Re: anxiety??

Posted By Jamie on July 12, 1999 at 15:28:19
I was having gastrointestinal problems for about a month.  Nausea, vomiting, heartburn, so forth.  The doctor could not find anything wrong with me...we did blood tests and also and upper gi...nothing!  She asked me about my stress level.  I told her that I am a full time student (22 yrs) and a mother to a 17month old boy.  I am also a Stay at home mom.  MANY responsibilities for my age.  The doctor said that sometimes stress can cause stomach problems.  ALL of my friends constantly tell me that I am always worried about something when there is absolutely nothing to be worried about.  My husband gets home at 10:00pm and if he is just 5 minutes late I start to panic.  My heart starts beating real fast, I pace the house, start calling his friends to see if they have seen him and when he gets home I question him till he gets very mad at me.  Believe me it is not my husband, I know it is me, but I never thought anything was wrong with me responding to situations this way.  Sometimes I almost pass out because I hypervenalate.  THe doctor ended up prescribing celexa to me.  I have been taking it for 2 weeks now and have not seen much of an improvement.  I have to go back to the doctor next week so she can check my progress.  I am not getting the stomach problems, but the anxiet, (or what ever you want to call it) is driving me crazy.  I really don't think it is normal to be like this all the time.  Little things set me off.  My mom is the same way, but maybe worse.  I try to control my anger, but can't seem to.  What do you suggest I do.  I am seeing my primary care physican at the moment.  Do you think that the celexa is the right chose.  Is there something else I should be taking instead of celexa.  I am really confused...or do you even think I hav