Aa
A
A
A
Close
Depression/Mental Health Forum
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.

should i see someone about..?

Posted by adam on April 25, 1999 at 12:05:59
Hello,
After reading about social anxiety I found that it fits the way I feel daily almost exactly.
I like being with people, but I still feel dread about going out, even if I really like going. I find it difficult to speak to more than one or two people in public (I am a University student so this can be related to the classroom setting). For example, I will never think to have discussions with the lecturer or tutor because I feel like all eyes are upon me and I am being evaluated.. my heart races and I forget what I am going to say or say it in a way I didn't intend.
The problem I describe doesn't really stop me from functioning on a daily basis but it is something that worries me. It feels very noticeable when I am anxious and I often feel clumsy.
This anxiety has accompanied what appears to be a vestibular disorder, and I'm quite sure that trying to live with this disorder on a daily basis has brought on the social anxiety.
My question is, should I do something about this? I would like something to be done, but don't know what could help? I have had propanolol in the past but can not really tolerate this because it causes me to have terrible nightmares and sleepwalk, and makes me very drowsy during the day. Should I see a psychiatrist?
-Adam

Posted by HFHS.MD.D.E. on April 29, 1999 at 16:30:05
Dear Adam;